Kenya electoral board commissioners resign over leadership fight

Kenya electoral board commissioners resign over leadership fight

The latest resignation of three commissioners may create another heated political exchange.

They faulted Chebukati over how key decisions at the commission were being made, including last week sending of CEO Ezra Chiloba on a three-month compulsory leave.

Magaya claimed that the three commissioners who resigned on Tuesday; Consolata Maina, Margaret Mwachanya and Paul Kurgat were part of a Ruto wing at the commission that was acting on the DP's instructions.

In a statement seen by, Orengo demanded the disbandment of the entire commission since it has failed accountability, efficiency and accuracy tests as stipulated in the constitution.

Akombe cited interference from political players and lack of independence among Commissioners.

IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati said in a statement on Monday evening that the three officials who quit "have not returned the public assets entrusted to them" and said that the commission's "operations are on course" despite the resignations and the on-going audit.

"The Commission Chairperson has failed to be the steady and stable hand that steers the ship in hard times and give direction when needed", Commissioner Mwachanya said flanked by Nkatha and Kurgat.

"Given this severe deterioration of confidence in the commission chair, we find our position as commissioners under his leadership no longer tenable", she said.

Commissioner Mwachanya was said to be away at the time Chebukati convened the plenary meeting to discuss an internal audit which revealed gaps in the award of five election-related tenders.

He moved to court seeking to overturn the decision but the Employment and Labour Relations Court failed to rule in his favour.

Commissioner Roselyn Akombe was the first to call it quit on October 18 a year ago, a week to the October 26 repeat presidential poll.

The resignation of the three leaves the commission technically dysfunctional with only Chebukati, and Commissioners Boya Molu and Abdi Guliye remaining put.

Related Articles