IPL 2018: 1122 players registered for the auction

IPL 2018: 1122 players registered for the auction

Over a thousand players will go under the hammer at the IPL 2018 auction scheduled to be held on January 27-28.

Root had stayed away from the IPL firstly because he wanted to establish himself in Test cricket and secondly due to the twin considerations of his first child, which was born in January 2017, and his appointment as Test captain of the England team.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has circulated the first short-list of players among the eight IPL franchises.

As far as global cricketers are concerned, leading the list are names like Chris Gayle and Ben Stokes.

The final registration for the auction closed on Friday, in which 1122 signed up including 281 capped and 838 uncapped players.

Among Australian cricketers, Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins top the list, being the most feared pacers in global cricket. It is also reported that there are 3 players from associate countries. Afghanistan will have 13 players, Bangladesh eight, Zimbabwe seven, United States of America two and Scotland one.

The franchises will leave no stone unturned when Chris Gayle, Ben Stokes, Chris Lynn, Eoin Morgan and pacers Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins come up for bidding in the IPLplayer auction 2018.

The Black Caps Colin Munro has done his cause no harm by racking up T20I centuries against the West Indies while his skipper Kane Williamson is also likely to be a sought after acquisition.

Hashim Amla, Kagiso Rabada, Faf du Plessis and Morne Morkel are some of the South Africans, who are also part of the list.

A total of 26 players from England, 58 from Australia, 30 from New Zealand and 57 from South Africa have registered for the auction, taking the overseas players to 282. Indian all-rounder Washington Sundar, who made his worldwide debut recently, also belongs to this category while pacer Mohammed Siraj and batsman Manish Pandey have set their base price at INR 1 crore.

The usual suspects like Chris Gayle, Ben Stokes, Ajinkya Rahane, Yuvraj Singh, Gautam Gambhir, Jos Buttler, Rashid Khan, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard etc., who are expected to fetch a huge sum at the auction, have registered for the mega auction.

Related Articles