Oklahoma's Mayfield wins Walter Camp award

Oklahoma's Mayfield wins Walter Camp award

Love would win the Doak Walker, which is given to the nation's top running back, beating out Barkley and Wisconsin's Jonathan Taylor.

Mayfield received 51 first-place votes from the 56 AP college football poll voters who submitted player of the year ballots, and a total of 157 points. He is the leading candidate to win the Heisman trophy, which is announced Saturday night. As for the Maxwell Award, which is given to the player of the year in college football, Mayfield beat out a pair of running backs in Penn State's Saquon Barkley and Stanford's Bryce Love. This season, he's recorded 4,340 passing yards and 41 touchdowns.

Love and Louisville's Lamar Jackson each earned two first-place votes for the AP award. He has also rushed for 310 yards and another five scores with no fumbles lost.

He joins Josh Heupel (2000), Jason White (2003) and Sam Bradford (2008) as previous winners from Oklahoma.

Mayfield was the first player to be a three-time finalist since the award began naming just three finalists in 1991. I wouldn't be here without those guys, and I'm happy I get to enjoy this trip with two of my teammates (Andrews and Brown), even though I think all of them deserve to be here with us.

Mayfield played high school football in Austin, Texas, but did not receive a scholarship offer from the Longhorns.

Oklahoma tight end Mark Andrews won the Mackey Award, for top tight end.

Named the first Mackey Award victor in program history Wednesday, Andrews leads the nation's tight ends with his 906 receiving yards and receiving yards per game (69.7), and is second in yards per catch (15.6), third in receptions (58) and sixth in touchdown receptions (eight). He was in Atlanta for the ESPN's college football awards show at the Hall of Fame.

Earlier in the day, Mayfield was selected as the Walter Camp Player of the Year by the Walter Camp Football Foundation. He is also a finalist for the Manning Award.

Related Articles